Advertisement
No Reviews
Vafira
Kerala, India
Experienced

Well being the non favoured one did affect me. In the beginning I use to think it's all in my head n something is wrong with me now I have jzz coped up with whole situation. But am independent confident and have a lot of really good friends and older friends. Surely nothing have filled the void this has created I hope. It will at some point

May 2021

Did you find this review helpful?

0
Anonymous
Malaysia
Favouritism

I’m the youngest and probably the unplanned baby. My mom has always favoured my older sisters since young. I didn’t feel it much as I was closer to my dad but over time it got worse, I was always blamed for their mistakes, I was the black sheep in the family where my mom vents out her anger to me all the time. I used to question her about the unfair treatment when I was younger but I was yelled and was told trying to break the family. This has caused me depression since young and I always felt never good enough. Today I’m in my 30’s, married to a lovely man and blessed with a beautiful baby, the favouritism still exist. I’ve stopped questioning and I chose to live far away from my family. I realized some things will never change so I’ve given up trying to please my mom because she only looks for me when she needs help. I promised to myself that I won’t treat my children the same way in the future. It sucks being unwanted and unloved.

May 2021

Did you find this review helpful?

0
Yashi Gupta
Gurugram Haryana
Parental Favouritism

Today I am 15 years old and at the time when I realized the favoritism towards my brother, I was just 8 years old girl. My parents especially my mother loves my younger brother more than me. When I realized that my mother loves my brother far more than me then I blamed myself for doing something bad and then I make all the hard work to regain my parent's love. But when I saw my hard work is not beneficiating me I started making distances from them. There are times when I get exhausted from favoritism of my mother and in that angry mood I started telling my feelings, but what happened, after all, that was just scolding and yelling at me to thinking such nonsense, thinking partiality and creating a fuss at home. But telling you all truthfully my mother was the one who started all these. She always told me that my brother has lots of care and love for her but I don't have. I am selfish and I have too much ego that in future I will destroy every other house where I will be living. I was so hurt by these words and determined not to be affected by them. Favoritism is the most disastrous mental trauma and can affect one's life with the career and you will never forget the times when your parents do so. I still remember those moments of favoritism that hurt me and thinks about suiciding Thank you for this website which shows the correct aspects of favoritism

May 2021

Did you find this review helpful?

0
M
Toronto
Heartbreaking but unfortunately true

I hate to admit it but favoritism is deadly and shouldn't be considered normal. My mother loves my older brother way more than she loves me. It's like she's blind and can't see the bad things my brother does (making fun of me, or hurting my feelings) but when I yell once or confront him, she automatically can see and tells me to stop as if I'm the bad person. It's so hard to talk to my brother about it because he disagrees and just thinks I'm crazy. It happens when they both make fun of me and think they're trying to discipline me but I just get embarrassed more and feel as if no one understands me. I feel so alone because of favoritism and people it's a normal phase. It's not and should never be.

April 2021

Did you find this review helpful?

1
Ratie Ted
I haven't recovered from the favouritism

I got my first heart break from my dad as a little girl, to this date as a young woman I still don't understand how it happens for me to love someone so much but he cant reciprocate it yet i see him doing it perfectly on my big sister, overtime i had to protect myself by learning that its actually okay to love your family from a distance, rather than being hurt by living closely to them.

March 2021

Did you find this review helpful?

0
Jane Doe
good read

I am 23 years old and all I can say is that I hate my younger brother.

March 2021

Did you find this review helpful?

1
Jacki Marie
Ypsilanti, MI
This is so true that it hurts

I also experienced "parental favoritism" growing up. I'm only older by 1 year and 5 months, but it was painfully obvious. I always did my best to ignore it and to convince myself I was wrong.... I wasn't. Now that I'm in my 30's, I feel the emotional and mental damage it really did cause. I fear rejection, I fear trust, I'm afraid to open my heart to anyone. I thought it was a consequence of bad relationships with men. Never thought it was because of my relationship with my mother. I was definitely daddy's little girl, but when he died in 2011, I became no one's little girl anymore. Parents say they don't favor or that they don't mean to. It's unavoidable and can't be argued. Mom's usually favor their boys. (First born or baby)... I've watched it in different families and my own, most of my life. There is always a favorite. If you don't think so, then the favorite is probably you. It is heartbreaking

February 2021

Did you find this review helpful?

1
Maggie
India
I'm 20 now, still I have the effects of favoritism in my life.

I'm 20 now, still I have the effects of favoritism in my life. And I'm still trying to please my parents but never succeeding in it.

February 2021

Did you find this review helpful?

1
Larisa S.
N/A
This is what happend to me

Growing up my brother always was the favorite child, for example he got stuff like a gaming computer tv nintendo switch 3DS and he never got in trouble like I did. My parent would take away everything from me for tiny things but for my brother it was only a punishment for an hour. even today I have anxiety problem form this.

February 2021

Did you find this review helpful?

0
a
hell
true

so true- I can't deal with it anymore

January 2021

Did you find this review helpful?

0
Advertisement
Newsletter